Sunday, April 24, 2011

Where does iTunes save iPhone Movies?

I'm trying to get a big movie off my iPhone 3GS. I synced it to my laptop, but can't find either photos or movies on the laptop. It's too big to email, how do I get it out?

Reply 1 : Where does iTunes save iPhone Movies?

Videos should also be stored in the iTunes Folder as specified under Edit->Preferences->Advanced.
Check there.

If not, google up iRip.
Bob

Reply 2 : Where does iTunes save iPhone Movies?

get synced to iTunes.
I believe that the only things that move from the iPhone to iTunes, during a sync, are;
Contacts, iCal, Purchased Apps and Purchased music.

If you launch iPhoto and import all the photo's and movies from the iPhone, they will go into iPhoto. (if the movie was created on the iPhone)

If the movie was not created on the phone, it should already be in iTunes as that would be how it got on the phone in the first place

Bob's suggestion of iRip may do the movie move for you

P

Thursday, April 21, 2011

Can AT&T distinguish between tethered and untethered data?

iPhone 4 latest 4.3.2 update (standard 16GB device and not! Jailbroken)

Is tethering applicable to 3G, wifi or both? Looking for some technical details that either support or disprove AT&T ability to crack down on jailbroken devices.

Reply 1 : Can AT&T distinguish between tethered and untethered data?

http://www.tipb.com/2011/03/18/att-cracking-jailbroken-mywi-users/ and it's 4 answers on how agree with what I know.

Hope that helps you out.
Bob

Reply 2 : Can AT&T distinguish between tethered and untethered data?

Your post confirms they can tell when someone is tethering without the correct feature. I suspected they could, just couldn't provide proof.

Reply 3 : Can AT&T distinguish between tethered and untethered data?

Sorry for the banged up posting. But I do agree with the 4 answers there.

Reply 4 : Can AT&T distinguish between tethered and untethered data?

FWIW, ATT is not cracking down on jailbroken devices per se (they could care less), but rather the inappropriate use of their data network. One takes away from their potential revenue while the other does not.

Reply 5 : Can AT&T distinguish between tethered and untethered data?

It's not the device but is the issue of using a feature incorrectly that violates the Terms & Conditions of Service.

Playing videos

What format do I need to play videos 0n the Droid2?
What video (app) player do I need to download?
Is there a recommended music video converter to move the video to the correct format?

Reply 1 : Playing videos

There are loads of different video players out there, and I'm sure others can give you more ideas as I have not focused much on video players however;

Vplayer works well, (I have yet to have any issues with it)

Reply 2 : Playing videos

with the mVideoPlayer. At the time I was researching and downloading different ones, this was one of the very few were videos weren't laggy. Do a Google search on it and you'll find more info on it.

~Sovereign

Reply 3 : Playing videos

I used bigasoft total video converter to transform video to droid format. The full guide instructs step by step to convert video to droid video and audio format:
http://www.bigasoft.com/articles/how-to-convert-video-to-android-phone-format.html

Reply 4 : Playing videos

I personally recommend Format Factory (http://download.cnet.com/FormatFactory/3000-2194_4-10968547.html?tag=mncol;1) since it can convert to several formats and it not only converts Video, but also audio and several other file types for Free! (not Free to Try) It already has several presets for compatibility with several devices, what you can do is take a small video convert it on your PC using one of the presets and test it on your phone, using trial and error you should be able to find the format that is best for your phone.

Reply 5 : Playing videos

Honestly i do have a good experience with format factory.
http://download.cnet.com/FormatFactory/3000-2194_4-11660921.html

Here is a storage option:
http://www.leawo.com/leawo-video-converter/
It is user-friendly and makes me really enjoy converting.

Tuesday, April 19, 2011

iMac problems since last patch

Hi
Am having some problems with my iMac (late 2007) since I did the latest Apple patch and updated Skype.
I received error messages on the first time that I logged into my computer telling me that Skype had a corrupt file, so I deleted all of the Skype files.
The problems that I am getting:
1. Slow processing and cannot handle more than one window open at any time
2. At start up it goes to a folder with a question mark in it which flashes and will not allow to boot up with zapping the pram
3. Time machine will not allow me to restore anything
I did the following:
1. Zapped the pram
2. Ran disc utility in safe mode and ran repaired
3. Reinstalled Leopard.
None of these have worked. It's very frustrating as it is a work machine and is holding me up a lot.
Help appreciated.

Reply 1 : iMac problems since last patch

Couple of things, you have a Mid-2007 iMac. There was no Late 2007, only an Early 2008. Just a minor point, since Apple doesn't really make any effort to distinguish between refreshes to the general public.

From what you describe, it sounds like your HDD is about to die. Actually not an uncommon problem with the Mid-07s. The updates were just coincidental most likely. It's likely been failing for some time, and you were just more aware of it because of the latest couple of updates.

Take the system somewhere to get a diagnostic run on it, and I'll bet a shiny nickel the HDD fails testing. Just make sure they run more than their simple AST "diagnostic" program. All that program does is check for the electrical connectivity of a device, it doesn't really test anything. They've also folded in their battery and adapter testing program, but that doesn't mean anything to you with a desktop model. They won't run the "big boy" diagnostics in front of you, so make sure they check your system in for diagnostics. Since the thing is certainly out of warranty by now, figure on something in the neighborhood of 250USD to fix it, and you really don't likely want to try and do this yourself. Getting an iMac apart without the proper tools just is asking for trouble. It also requires some tools the average person doesn't have in their home toolbox.

If you get it diagnosed at an Apple store for free, you can probably take the system, complete with a 3.5" SATA drive of your own, and find some local AASP that is willing to put your drive into the system for just the cost of an hour's labor. The risk here is that if the drive is DOA or fails at some point, you'll have to pay again to get it swapped out. You buy from Apple, they'll give a 90 day warranty on that drive. So you wouldn't pay labor on the repeat service. Now, the odds of a drive being DOA or failing that quickly are small, but it is always a risk. You need to do the risk analysis of whether or not you want to take a chance and potentially save a little money.

Reply 2 : iMac problems since last patch

Thanks for response, Jimmy.
Since posting earlier, the entire computer refused to power up. After 30 mins of cooling down, I managed to log straight in and have copied my documents across to another computer ready for the inevitable replacement hard drive. It's booked into the Genius bar on Tuesday.
This iMac has been nothing but trouble - the graphics card failed after 16 mths and now this.
I would never buy another.

Reply 3 : iMac problems since last patch

The Mid-07 line was... Tempermental, shall we say. The entire 2007 year was just kind of a bad one for quality at Apple. The newer unibody iMacs are really quite nice. I am posting this from one right now. Have yet to see a single LCD panel that even rivals that of the 2009-2010 iMacs. Everyone comments on the image quality. You just have to accept that they aren't designed to be DIY friendly.

Of course your latest comments suggest the problem may be worse than just a bad HDD.

Reply 4 : iMac problems since last patch

Actually, mine is an early 2008 and Apple tell me that Third Generation iMacs can be anywhere between July 2007 and April 2008.

In fact, i am not suspicious that it is even the HDD. After some research on the net, there is clearly a problem with overheating in these machines and mine may not have had enough airflow around it.

I've wiped it and reloaded a lot of programmes without it complaining at all and been working on it all day after moving it to a better position.

But I found somewhere that will put a new 1tb HDD in and 4gb memory for under 200 so it might be worth doing that anyway as an upgrade.

I'm fed up being told that the machine I bought was 'not good one for Apple'. It happened with my quad processor G5 too.

Reply 5 : iMac problems since last patch

It happens. Apple is better than the average, but the rest of the market doesn't exactly set a high bar to clear with HP and Acer fighting it out for the King Bottomfeeder crown. Doesn't mean Apple won't have issues sometimes. The quad G5s tended to be water cooled, and they had issues with the tubing leaking. Water cooling systems work almost exactly like that of a car, and in fact the solution in them is basically antifreeze. But just like if your car springs a leak in the antifreeze circulation system, once you start running out of antifreeze, your engine starts overheating... So it is with your computer.

The big difference between Apple and other companies, is that they tend to learn from their mistakes. They've had some bad designs in the past, and by the next refresh, you can see signs of them trying to address those issues. The 06 model iMacs with the white plastic casing were just awful. Talk about PITA to get open. The final model before the aluminum models hit wasn't too bad, and they finally got rid of these little release latches that had a tendency to get stuck and practically force you to rip them off.

And the Early 08 model wouldn't have been sold until very late in 07 at the absolute earliest. We're talking like December... Probably late December at that. So, not sure what someone at the Apple store is smoking, but they're certainly blowing it up your rear. But then Apple doesn't really hire based on technical skill, they go more for personality, figuring they can train people to repair systems. And that you can do, but you can't really teach good diagnosing skills. Of course they said third generation, which they probably mean as the aluminum model, and would more properly be the SECOND generation Intel iMac. Third gen would be the unibody models that started in Late 09. But that's kind of a stupid system of marking models because Apple did about 3 refreshes for the white plastic models, then there were 3-4 for the aluminums, not counting the 24" models, and so far there have been two refreshes for the unibody models. Each one of those has subtle changes that a tech needs to be aware of... So I feel myself coming back to my comment about them blowing smoke.

I HAVE seen some of those models get pretty caked with dust, but unless you had the thing sitting under a heating vent that was running or the thing was in an area with virtually zero air circulation (which would seem to make it hard for you to exist), I'm not sure I buy it. It may not necessarily be a bad HDD, though I've had systems come in where I work... I test them, everything seems fine, so I send it back, then maybe a week later the thing comes back, and this time the HDD fails testing. A bad HDD can have intermittent symptoms depending on how far along the path to failure it is. I've had drives back during IBM's infamous Death Star line that made the "click of death" part of the common vernacular among hardware techs. That drive might work great for a week straight, then suddenly it'd just refuse to boot at all for a day. Then it'd work again, then it'd stop, rinse and repeat until I got around to replacing it. Expect your symptoms to return.

Screen blur

Hi, I have an opportunity to buy cheap mac mini but there is a catch it do this http://img807.imageshack.us/g/picture1qi.png/ (notice the slight blur) so I want to ask if this problem is bad graphic card or wrong graphics settings? I know its hard to say but what is your opinion? If it helps its 1,42GHz model. Also excuse my bad English!

Reply 1 : Screen blur

It's hard to see, because the image is rather small, but what I can see makes it look like you're running a non-native resolution on your display. If you go to system preferences, displays, and then look at the resolution, does it say "stretched" next to it? If yes, it will cause this blurring.

Reply 2 : Screen blur

Difficult to say from the pictures but the blur does not look too bad on the posted image.

What was the resolution of the screen when the shot was taken?
LCD or Cathode Ray Tube monitor?

Any chance of a second monitor for reference purposes?

P

Chipset ICH8-M limited to 1.5 Gbits : Macbook 3.1 and 4.1

Apple artificially limits the SATA chipset. Today, with the rapid evolution of SSD I plan to add on my macbook pro 4.1 but the problem is that performance will necessarily clamped.
I think not only in this case, and we want an updated firmware soon. This is why we, the concerned, provide feedback on the forum that Apple offers a firmware update soon. Our model is not outdated and is still supported by Apple.
Moreover, with the arrival of the next Mac OS X Lion, this limitation we leave the key.

Come discuss this issue on the Apple support for many to complain about a single post, describe the problems you are having too.
http://discussions.info.apple.com/thread.jspa?threadID=2803704&tstart=0
Thanks

Reply 1 : Chipset ICH8-M limited to 1.5 Gbits : Macbook 3.1 and 4.1

Apple has done well to limit speeds on chips to keep power use and errors in check.

But Apple does not share such stories and the result is posts like this.
Bob

Which is better iPhone or Android

I was think of buying a new phone, but i don't know which to get so which is better iPhone or Android and if you can, can you tell me the Pro's and Con's of why or why not

Reply 1 : Which is better iPhone or Android

One person's complaint over a generally closed ecosystem (e.g. Apple/iPhone) might be another's nirvana since it simply 'works', without the tweaking necessary sometimes w/ Android OS. OTOH, someone who likes to tinker might appreciate the flexiblity of Android to get a device just right. YMMV. Both can work wonders for the right people, eh?

Reply 2 : Which is better iPhone or Android

Here I have to choose by which has BlueTooth SPP. Other folk will have other criteria. What's yours?

Reply 3 : Which is better iPhone or Android

Hey I have used both the Droid X and the iPhone 4 for personal use. My friend also has the Evo 4G. I wrote an article detailing the pros and cons of them at http://tehsource.com/2011/04/iphone-or-android/ this is from a neutral standpoint with no business influence!

Reply 4 : Which is better iPhone or Android

In most cases, it all comes down to personal preference.

I would prefer the iPhone because it has grown on my from all these years of using it.

I have recently switched from the iPhone 3G to a Samsung Captivate and I am regretting that I didn't get the iPhone 4.

However, you can skip the iPhone 4 and go straight for the iPhone 5. I've been hearing that it is going to be coming out mid summer, I hope.

Camcorder for Macbook Pro MC724, OS X snowleopard, iLIFE'11

I would like a list of good quality camcorders that work well with our new Pro and iMovie'11. Was hoping to get HD camcorder but, if the Mac Pro can't handle MPEG 4 files, we will settle for what the Mac can handle.
We want to record classical music ensembles (good audio required, probably low light, maybe zoom to single players) as well as modern dance and gymnastics. Important that modest editing can be done in iMovie (though could purchase another program, but not the very expensive professional program). Want to produce good quality audio + video file that can be played on PC's as well as Macs and that can be burned onto DVD. Would also like to play videos from the Mac on our HD-TV.

A full list of camcorders would be appreciated. There were so many "Visual stabiliztion limitations" with iLIFE'09 (listed on the Mac website), I suspect that the list of compatible camcorders for iLIFE'11 is small. I hope that Apple and Mac fans will be upfront and guide us to a camcorder that really works well with a new Macbook Pro. Thanks very much, I will report back on our choice, hopefully in the next 4-5 weeks.

Reply 1 : Camcorder for Macbook Pro MC724, OS X snowleopard, iLIFE'11

I can tell you that most of the Hard Drive based cameras work well with iMovie.

Avoid, like the plague, any camera that puts the video directly down onto a DVD. Because the DVD is the finished thing, it is extremely difficult to edit the footage without having to convert the footage to DV or something similar.

And then, because it is Sunday and I have nothing to do right now, I went in search of a definitive answer for you.
I finally found it in iMovie 11, under Help.

http://help.apple.com/imovie/cameras/en/index.html?lang=en_US

Just select the options that you want, remember to avoid DVD based cameras, and hit the Go button.

Voila! A list of compatible cameras.

Let us know what you decide

P

Reply 2 : Camcorder for Macbook Pro MC724, OS X snowleopard, iLIFE'11

iMovie 11 is capable of stabilizing a shaky picture on its own.

All the warning is saying is that any camera that uses the CMOS image sensors often use a technology called a "rolling shutter" and that, if you use iMovie 11 Video Stabilization when you are editing the raw footage, you will likely have a result that looks distorted.

A workaround is to either use a tripod while filming your event, which will give you a stable picture to begin with

OR

Do not use iMovie 11's built in Video Stabilization feature.

P

Reply 3 : Camcorder for Macbook Pro MC724, OS X snowleopard, iLIFE'11

help.apple.com is one of my trusted websites, but the options, in any combination, render a warning window with an exclamation in a yellow triangle and a "yes" with an OK button. When I click the button, nothing happens. Why is this happening? I have tried several combinations, same result. am running a Windows 7 OS (my daughter owns the Mac Pro).

Thanks for the info about the stabilization issue, especially if we get a camcorder with a CMOS image sensor. Does this mean that we can turn off iLIFE's built-in video stabilization feature to get a less distorted picture? (I can't check that right now - Mac Pro is not in the house.)

I will definitely get a tripod for concert and dance recordings, so I hope the pictures will be stable to begin with. Thanks again, awaiting reply about the Mac website with options to find compatible camcorder (though maybe I have to ask for help from Apple).

Reply 4 : Camcorder for Macbook Pro MC724, OS X snowleopard, iLIFE'11

the video stabilization is not something that needs to be turned off in iMovie, it is off by default.

To stabilize a piece of video there are a number of steps to got through before it does its thing.

Not sure what is happening with the Apple site for you with Windows 7, I'll check with a Winbox here, only XP, and see if I have the same problem.
Just checked, works fine in XP with IE and Firefox.
Try it with Firefox and see if you get the same result.

Monday, April 18, 2011

LG BD640 other apps

I would like to add other apps to the LG BD640 bluray player. Anyone have any experience with this?

Reply 1 : LG BD640 other apps

So far such apps are limited to what LG approves so you get only what they offer.

If you want to create apps, then you go to LG and begin the long process of figuring out how to deal with LG and there will be a lot of work from that to when your first app is published. In fact it should take over a year and by then we might see the new players with web browsers.
Bob

Saturday, March 26, 2011

3 spd ---> 4spd swap info



I have been doing a little research to get a parts list made up. I have an 02 prizm that has a 3spd auto. I am looking to swap a 4spd auto. I work in a shop and have a lift, tools, etc. Is there anyone who has done this swap that has a parts list? Obviously I need a transmission but what else?



Thanks again and I will also keep searching.

Reply 1 : 3 spd ---> 4spd swap info



105 did this exact swap. Search for his post.

Reply 2 : 3 spd ---> 4spd swap info



You will most likely also need to find and engine wiring harness and ECU/PCM from a car with a 4-speed auto trans.

Reply 3 : 3 spd ---> 4spd swap info



I've been meaning to put together a summary/write up. Let me know if you have any questions.



This is from my write-up/summary that is in progress:



Parts:





















***Here is the link to Buurin's wiring write-up. http://www.toyotanation.com/forum/sh...d.php?t=351093

You'll need to either harvest all the pins or entire connectors mentioned in his write-up. There are several different size pins in all the connectors. Don't be like me and have to make several trips to the bone yard to figure this out. You cannot buy these pins ANYWHERE!!! Your only other option would be to find a complete engine wire harness and its sure to be very expensive from toyota.



I did my swap for under $200 including a new flex plate because mine was destroyed. Not including fluid and filter.

Can't download iOS updates for iPod Touch

Question for anyone who might be able to advise me on downloads of a new iOS update. I have a 2nd generation iPod Touch and have been trying to update to the latest iOS version. But I keep getting messages that the download timed out - after only about 1 or 2 minutes of the download attempt.

I have iTunes running on Win7, and I have a 802.11g network. A few months ago when I tried to do the first update to iOS 4, and had this same issue, I went to the Apple store. The staffer there told me I need to be on 802.11n. I was able to download the update while in the store. But at home, even plugged directly into my cable modem, I have the same download timing out issue. Anyone else familiar with this problem?

Wednesday, March 23, 2011

exhaust tip - tip? LOL



sup fellas...



I've encountered a problem I've never had before, since i've never had a white car. it appears that after waxing/detailing my white 99 CE (which the paint is really good on it) i get some exhuast buildup on the rear bumper where the muffler is. meaning some of the smoke stays on the paint after washing/waxing.



its not blowing black/blue/white smoke - just normal emissions. I'm thinking of getting one of those 45 degree (or 65 degree) exhaust tips to re-route the fumes to aim downwards instead of horizontally.



i'm not looking for anything chrome or "ghetto", just a way to keep the car a little cleaner longer.





anyone done this? and if so, did it make a difference? i'll try it anyways (the part is like 10 bucks) but just curious if this may work.



thanks,



-dave

Reply 1 : exhaust tip - tip? LOL



Shouldn't have any issues installing it - just make sure it is not that much larger than the OEM tip, otherwise that set screw they use to hold the tip on will loosen easily. Some may try and bend the existing tip down, but that is likely to just snap that short pipe off the muffler.



Other option is trying to claybar that area. Clay will remove all sorts of stuff embedded into the paint. So unless the particulates are completely embedded themselves into the paint, clay bar will take it off.

Reply 2 : exhaust tip - tip? LOL



yeah I clay-barred it... it cleans up ok, its just a hassle if I dont wash if for a week or so, then all the black exhaust smoke flares up.



i'll try a 45 degree tip facing down. I hope it wont scrape anything.

Replacement Dell PA-10 90W 19.5V 4.62A 7.4*5.0 central pin 3

Input: AC100-240V (worldwide use)
Output: DC19.5V 4.62A
Power: 90W

Outlet: 3-prong
Connecter size:
Internal Diameter: 5.0mm
External Diameter: 7.4mm
With Central Pin Inside

Items Included: AC Adapter and Power Cord (US Version).
Brand New Replacement Product works as genuine parts, 100% OEM Compatible!! Full 12 months warranty!!

Airport Extreme suddenly won't connect to internet

It could be a firewall setting. It could be a software update. Whatever it is, I cannot connect to the internet using Extreme (it does connect to the internet using just plain old wifi). This is a sudden problem--it worked fine last week.

I'm using OS 10.5.2.

Thanks

Regards,

Tom McKnight

Reply 1 : Airport Extreme suddenly won't connect to internet

No. Nice catch. But I have two Macs cooking here in the office, one on each of two different floors. One is a MacBook and the other is a MacMini. Haven't been without a Mac at my side for 21 years, even though the main machine is a PC. My Macs never let me down, well, until now.

Reply 2 : Airport Extreme suddenly won't connect to internet

do you have NAT turned on?
Also, is the Extreme set to hand out IP addresses independently of the main DHCP server.

ie. If you connect via ethernet, will your IP address be in the same range as when you connect to the Extreme?
Airport usually pushes out 10.x.x.x IP numbers while wired Routers use 192.168.x.x numbers.


P

Reply 3 : Airport Extreme suddenly won't connect to internet

Hello hero,

Honestly, the only thing I know about NATs is down the street here in DC at the Nationals Stadium.

What is a NAT and where do I find it?

Also not sure what to do to locate the IP addresses.

I'm betting you have the correct solution in sight.

Looking forward to seeing your answer.

Thanks

Tom

Reply 4 : Airport Extreme suddenly won't connect to internet

You will find that in the Network Pane of the computer that is connected to the Airport Extreme.

NAT. Network Address Translation. More on that when I get back to a Mac after work.

Do you know what IP addresses are used on the rest of the wired network machines?

On Windows: Start > Run > cmd > ipconfig This will show the IP address of that winbox

On the Mac. System Preferences, Network, Airport. You should see the IP address.

Compare them. The only differences should be the numerals after the last . (dot)

P

Reply 5 : Airport Extreme suddenly won't connect to internet

Hi

The Airport Express works only on or for the Macbook and no others.

The IP address for the express as viewed from the Macbook is 10.0.1.200 This seems to be an odd address. Normally they have a pattern as follows: xxx.xxx.x.xxx

Thanks

Reply 6 : Airport Extreme suddenly won't connect to internet

for a wireless base station.
The normal pattern is xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx, three numerals for each octet. Mostly though, you do not get to see the spaces all filled with numerals. I have 192.168.1.100 and up, as do millions of other home network users.
Technically, the Airport Express works with any wireless enabled device but I'll accept that you only have Macs connected to it.

Do you only have a wireless network?
If there is a wired network as well as the wireless one, what sort of IP address do the wired machines get?
Is the Extreme the Router on the network? If it is not, then you may have two DHCP servers on your network. Turn off the DHCP broadcast from the Extreme and see what happens.

Is the WAN side of the Extreme getting an IP address from another router on your network? If the WAN side shows 192.168.x.x then you have two DHCP servers running.

P

Reply 7 : Airport Extreme suddenly won't connect to internet

The second one, which is the primary WIFI network in the house, is 192.168.0.197

The Macbook can easily work through this network. Until recently the Macbook worked very well with both/either. Then suddenly the internet would not function through the Extreme.

Reply 8 : Airport Extreme suddenly won't connect to internet

and start again with it.

The manual will explain how to do that.

To configure the Extreme you will need to be connected to it via ethernet, not wireless.

Once it is reset, configure it and it "should" work again.

If I understand you correctly, you have two networks, both with wireless capability, in the house and NONE of the computers are connected to the routers via ethernet cable. Is that correct?

Are these two separate networks or are they both connected to a single Router and Modem?

P

Reply 9 : Airport Extreme suddenly won't connect to internet

Hi

The signal arrives into the house via cable.

Then it goes to the DLink wifi. The DLink has a port in which the Extreme is attached. Both wireless networks operate simultaneously. Both are capable of n signaling. Both worked fine until last week when we unplugged everything because of an impending thunderstorm. There were no electrical hits and all equipment in the house appears to be fine. Well, except for this. Remember, the Extreme is visible and connects to the MacBook just fine, except it cannot deliver the internet connection.

My son set it up about a year ago. How do I access the controls of the Extreme? Hardwire, ok. Then what?

And many thanks.

Reply 10 : Airport Extreme suddenly won't connect to internet

Reading this reply rings a bell. To have TWO routers you may have to CAREFULLY REMEMBER WHERE IT PLUGS IN (what to what port!)

Here's a link in our Networking Forum to an article about using TWO ROUTERS. You don't use the uplink port and many will get it wrong.
Read http://forums.cnet.com/5208-7589_102-0.html?forumID=62&threadID=264135&messageID=2754854#2754854
Bob

Reply 11 : Airport Extreme suddenly won't connect to internet

I went into the Extreme controls and redid them, frankly like they were before. Voila! Extreme now connects to the internet. On the Mac Mini, I just switched it over to the extreme and it works fine. I never could shake the old password in the DLink wireless connection, even after I erased the link in Utilities. No need to chase it down because I'm a happy camper.

Thanks for all the help.

Macs really spoil us. In all these years of having Macs at my elbow this was the first time I ever had to rummage around the guts of the settings.

On we go. Nice also to know that CNET is the place to go for expert advice.

Have a grand weekend.

Tom

Reply 12 : Airport Extreme suddenly won't connect to internet

Bob, I'm having EXACTLY the same problem. And I have EXACTLY the same set up. 2Wire wireless modem/router which sends a WiFi signal I can receive on my Mac wirelessly. But then an Airport Extreme cabled into it that "used to" broadcast a transmitted wireless signal but no longer shows up. Just stopped. It used to be that I could access either or. Now all I have to choose from is the 2Wire. The green light on the Airport Extreme is on, it appears "happy" but no signal is appearing to come from it. And I'd prefer to link to it. When I scan for the "Airport Utilities" under the Utilities Control Panel I get, "no device found." So, I can't change the Airport's settings. I can't reach it. How did you get into the Airport's controls? I have hardwired it now via Ethernet and it shows an ethernet connection through the Airport but it still will not pick up on a scan and will not allow me into the utility for its settings. How did you access the controls? Thank you!!!

Reply 13 : Airport Extreme suddenly won't connect to internet

I have a similar, but not exactly identical problem.

My set up:

Wired Buffalo Hub connected to Optical Fibre internet.
MacPro plugged into one connection off the hub.
Epson wireless print server plugged into one connection off the hub (it won't connect wirelessly so is used configured for wired operation.)
Dell connected to the last connection off the hub.
Airport Express connected to another connection off the hub.

Connected to the Airport Express are:

Wired - Airtunes Speakers, USB Printer
Wireless - G4 Powerbook running 10.4, MacMini Running 10.5

In addition, the MacPro also connects to the Airport for inter-machine file-sharing and iTunes.

My problem lies with my MacBook Air which was perfectly happy to connect to the internet through the Airport until this week when it suddenly stopped, even though it is connected to my Network (Password protected, WPA2 encryption.) I have not changed anything, added anything nor updated anything between everything working swimmingly and everything not. All software is at the latest version, as is firmware.

The status is now:

All machines can see the network.
All machines can see the printer and Airtunes
All machines EXCEPT the Air have 10.x.x.x IPs from the Express by DHCP with NAT. The Air has a self assigned IP.
All machines except the Air can connect to the Internet wirelessly, including the MacPro when I tell it to use the Airport link as its connection.

It seems that the Air is either not requesting an IP address, or not recognizing the answer when it gets one, or the Airport Express is ignoring it. The Air connects perfectly well through the USB LAN adapter or off every other WiFi spot I have tried it on, all with the same Network, Firewall and Little Snitch settings. I have rebooted, reset and re-anything else I can think of the Express and the Air. If I turn the Firewall and Little Snitch off on the Air I can, maybe, get a connection, but not every time.

I am assuming there is a corrupt preference file somewhere on the Air, but I don't have the first idea which one it would be.

Any suggestions gratefully received!

Reply 14 : Airport Extreme suddenly won't connect to internet

So, I am in desperate need of some help! My family and I are currently living overseas and cannot for the life of me figure out our problem. Of course, the language barrier (russian) and the lack of any computer tech's who know about Mac's is very frustrating...Here's what is going on:

1. We have internet through satellite (no cable connections here). It seems just as fast as it was when we were back in the US.

2. There is a coaxial cable that comes into the house, which connects (using an ethernet end) to a small black connector. It basically plugs into this connector, which the internet company told us is the "modem." This small black "modem" has a power cord which plugs into the outlet and another ethernet end that plugs into the computer, or in this case our airport extreme.

3. We can connect to the internet no problem when it is directly connected to our MacBook Pro.

4. When I plug this "modem" into the airport extreme, we get a green light on the airport and our MacBook recognizes our network (full strength), but for some reason we cannot connect to the internet.

5. I have the airport set to use DHCP.

Is there a simply fix to this problem, am I just overlooking something? My family and I would be very thankful if there is anyone out there who may be able to help us figure this thing out!

~Without wireless in a country that doesn't understand Mac!

Reply 15 : Airport Extreme suddenly won't connect to internet

The manual will tell you how to do this.
Once done, configure the Extreme again. You should be connected to the Extreme via ethernet cable while you are configuring it.
Once configured, access the internet while still connected via ethernet cable.
If successful, you are safe to move onto the wireless setup.

Let us know how you get on

P

Reply 16 : Airport Extreme suddenly won't connect to internet

Thank you very much for the recommendation...Once the settings were reset, we established a "new wireless network" and bingo we are now up and running on our MacBook Pro...Unfortunately, we are now experiencing problems connecting our second computer. It recognizes the airport extreme network, but for some reason cannot connect to the internet. Not sure if we need to do something with the extreme settings, but definitely is frustrating. Any suggestions?

Thanks again for your help, it is nice to know there are people out there who are still willing to take a couple of moments to help another person out! Take care and hope to hear back from you.

Warmest Regards,

Family8675309

Reply 17 : Airport Extreme suddenly won't connect to internet

When you say "recognizes", do you mean that it can see the Airport network but cannot connect to it
or
That it can connect but does not go any further forward than that?

Take a look at the Network Settings and see what the IP address of the Mac is. It should NOT start with 169.

You may also need to shut down the Mac, the Airport Extreme and the modem and restart them in this order. Modem, Airport Extreme, Mac. Wait until each device is up and running before moving on to the next one.

Good Luck

P

Reply 18 : Airport Extreme suddenly won't connect to internet

Thanks for the advice...The Mac does connect to the airport extreme, but will not connect to the internet...I will check the ip address, that may be the problem...I'll let you know what happens! Thank!

Regards,

Family8675309

Reply 19 : Airport Extreme suddenly won't connect to internet

I bought an AirPort Extreme Wireless-N this weekend and hooked it up to my cable modem at home. I used the Airport Utility to set up the base station and create a wireless network. At first I used DHCP to set up but got an a yellow light and a message saying that the internet connection was not working. So I hook my MacBookPro directly to the cable modem ethernet port and got all the IP Address, Subnet Mask, Router and DNS information from my ISP, Cox Cables. I then connect the AE to the cable modem ethernet port and used the Airport Utility to set up the base station again. I chose manually set up this time with the IP address I got from ISP. I got it working without any problem and my MacBookPro was able to detect to the AE. However, I still can't access the internet. The light on the AE itself is solid green, but there is no connectivity to the internet. I'm at a wits end as to what to do next. Any help will be appreciated. I'm using Mac OSX v10.6.6.

Tapping the headlight wire



I am looking for a good place in the cabin to tap the headlight wire. I am going to use it for some indiglo gauges. I actually want to tap the wire that is for the parking lights. (So the gauges turn on with the parking lights, not just the headlights.) I was hoping someone knew a good wire to use in the driver's footwell, or around the fusebox. I do not have a voltage meter, so I wouldn't be able to easily find it, myself. I'd also need a good ground wire.

Reply 1 : Tapping the headlight wire



There is a +12V solid green wire at the bottom of the fuse box for the parking lights.



I would just ground it to the body/chassis of the car.

Reply 2 : Tapping the headlight wire



pic


Reply 3 : Tapping the headlight wire



That is a spectacularly perfect photo of what I needed.

Reply 4 : Tapping the headlight wire



I ended up doing this, this weekend. I didn't want to, but when I took out my cluster to replace a burned out bulb, I accidently tore out the wire from my indiglos. Anyway, I used some crimp caps and wired it directly into the harness that plugs into the gauge cluster. Positive is a green wire and negative a brown, on the white harness plug. Works like a charm. Zip tied the wiring in a much better fashion, so it won't put stress anywhere unccessarily now. I got wire strippers and crimp caps for my radio install, and I've slowly been fixing all my half-assed wiring all over the car.

Tuesday, March 22, 2011

Saving & Uploading Cellphone Address Book?

Hi, Is there anyway or any program out there that I can save the address bookcontact list on my cellphone on my computer. Also is there anyway to upload my address bookcontact list on my computer onto my cellphone. Everytime I get a new cellphone I have to redo my address book from stratch. I would really like to find a way to save and upload my addres book from my computer onto my cell phone and visa versa. I have a LG 285 cellphone with bluetooth and I am using the address book in outlook express 6.

Internet tethering with iphone

Hi, my new macbook pro asks to shut down whenever I surfing the net using iphone's internet tethering (since my home wireless is temporarily down). I found that it doesn't happened without using tethering.
I tried different ways of connecting such as USB only, Bluetooth only, offing Data Roaming. But in the end, it is the same shut down page came out and nth able to continue with the work. Once it restarts, the error details is started with as follows:

Interval Since Last Panic Report: 11232 sec
Panics Since Last Report: 25
Anonymous UUID: CF339B73-689F-4F8D-B761-B810D3DDCB2E

and so on. So, plz help me source the problem. let me know if further info is necessary too.

thank you guys. happy

Saturday, March 19, 2011

Macbook Pro Touchpad Problems

When i use my touchpad, it sometimes acts as if i constantly have it held down and even with 1 finger on it it reacts as if its constantly reacting to me highlighting text. Not sure why this occurs, and i have resorted to using a mouse for some occasions and when this occurs i have to make sure my touchpad isn't highlighting stuff or else my mouse won't work 100%. Any help would be appreciated.

Reply 1 : Macbook Pro Touchpad Problems

will cause it to "do" something.

Remember it is a Touch Pad and as such will respond to any input from your tactile digits and it is not necessary to "hold down" the pad for a reaction to occur.


P

Reply 2 : Macbook Pro Touchpad Problems

This can also be a side effect of a battery that is starting to swell. And even if your system is brand new, it doesn't necessarily rule out that possibility.

So, it couldn't hurt to take a quick look at your battery to see if there are any obvious signs of it swelling. If there are signs of swelling, you should make arrangements to remove the battery ASAP, because swelling batteries will eventually explode, and that is very dangerous.

Reply 3 : Macbook Pro Touchpad Problems

After owning my My 13" macbook pro for about 6 months, the trackpad started to malfunction. The cursor would stick, jump around erratically, move when I tried to click on something (causing me to open apps and windows I didn't want to) and open the running application menu that is typically opened when you click Command+Tab without me even touching the computer! It seemed possessed. I called Apple and they thought that it might be a swelling battery or that I might need to replace the trackpad. Since the battery is internal, I needed to bring it to a repair shop to have it diagnosed. As it turned out, the trackpad didn't have a "Grounding Strap" and that's what was causing the erratic behavior. It seems to be working much better now. I hope this helps other mac users who are having similar issues.

Reply 4 : Macbook Pro Touchpad Problems

Not all of them have a ground strap, and it's part of the top case when they do, so not a small thing to get fixed. On unibody MacBook (Pros) that basically requires rebuilding the entire system in a different case.

And the "grounding strap" is really nothing particularly special. It doesn't even connect to any of the data portions of the trackpad, so not really sure what it's grounding. It generally doesn't do you a lot of good to have a ground connection a great distance away from where your data/power connections are going to be running. If you took it somewhere, they probably replaced the entire top case which came with a new trackpad. Then they fed you some BS line about a grounding strap for some reason. I'd actually guess that you just remembered what they told you incorrectly.

Reply 5 : Macbook Pro Touchpad Problems

yeah, that so called "gounding strap" solved the problem for all of an hour. So I brought it to the apple store where they are replacing the trackpad. Sounds like this is an issue with macbook pros...the guy next to me at the genius bar was having the same problem.

Reply 6 : Macbook Pro Touchpad Problems

Don't know about that. I run into surprisingly few trackpad replacements at work, and I fix Apple systems professionally. The main issue seems to be the temperature sensor in the trackpad will often go bad, and cause the fans to run at full speed all the time.

Reply 7 : Macbook Pro Touchpad Problems

I have the exact same problem stated by "magaleener" above; 13 in macbook pro, got it in september 2010 and last week started having those problems as described. I read somewhere something about resetting the PRAM and I did that and that did nothing. But I also read somewhere about hitting the area to the right of trackpad with some force with your hand and that worked like a miracle. Which is why I am able to type this message...it is working now. But, that is a temporary fix as I am not so keen on hitting my computer.

I am currently working in Spain and will have to take it into an apple service provider here. I still have apple care so the fix will be covered but I want to be as educated as I can before going in so I can be confident if my computer has to get something repaired or replaced.

Do you think maybe when I hit the computer it makes the temperature sensor or fan restart or run/stop running? So then my trackpad works?

Reply 8 : Macbook Pro Touchpad Problems

That would be dangerous. On one side of the trackpad is the HDD, and then under the trackpad and all the way to the other side of the system is the battery. So, hitting the system over the battery OR the HDD would NOT be an advisable course of action. You may cause the battery to rupture or cause a head crash on the HDD.

If you got yours in september, it should still be under warranty, so take it somewhere to get it looked at. But if you keep hitting it, they're going to write it up as physical abuse and charge you for the repair.

Friday, March 18, 2011

Turn signal



Sorry for making another thread....





I have a problem with my turn signal (the handle that you press up or down to make your blinker/signal light up).



What do you guys call this switch/handle?



When I push it up to make it blink to the righ, my blinker arrow lights up...but when I push down, there is no light or it something clicks very fast. But im aiming toward dead.



So when I slowly push it down ..not all the way down but maybe 1/3 of the way and held it in place by itself there...the blinker works and my left arrow blinks.



I image it might be a bad connector or something ...



if you know what the name of this part is call ....maybe I can DIY repair...i seen guide on how to do this..pretty easy.



Also if there is a guide...plz help me out iwth a link.

Reply 1 : Turn signal



Could be a bad turn signal stalk switch, or it could be a burned out lightbulb / short in the electrical / defective flasher relay.



First verify that when you see the arrows on the dash display come one, do they correspond to the actual flashers lighting up on the car (have someone check the blinkers on the car).

Reply 2 : Turn signal




Quote:








Originally Posted by fishexpo101
View Post

Could be a bad turn signal stalk switch, or it could be a burned out lightbulb / short in the electrical / defective flasher relay.



First verify that when you see the arrows on the dash display come one, do they correspond to the actual flashers lighting up on the car (have someone check the blinkers on the car).



Yes. the left flasher come on when I push it 1/3 of the way slighly downward. I think that the contact is worn out or something.



The dash board with the flash display work just fine. Both of the dasher corrispone to each of the blinker. I am pretty sure it the handle or contact when i push it down.



Just need to know what you guys call the handle so I can maybe find a part and try to replace and see if that is the problem.



EDIT: Thanks fishexpo for the name ...... turn signal switch...lol



now how much would one of this go for at autozone or o rally? any guide on how to do this repair?

iFlipr help!!!

Hi there--

I can't figure out who can answer questions about iFlipr, so I'm hoping someone can either help or point me in the direction of someone who can.

I can't download iFlipr for my iPhone and can't figure out why. I'm in grad school and bought an iPhone specifically because my classmates and I all make/use flashcards using iFlipr... except that I can't download the app! When I go to iTunes and search, I come up emptyhanded. When I go to the iFlipr site to download it at this link: http://iflipr.com/ It opens my iTunes and then an error message pops up telling me that the item is not available in the US store. This is confusing, since all my friends have it on their iPhones (but they all downloaded it a while ago). The Apple store has it listed at http://www.apple.com/webapps/utilities/iflipr.html. I called the iTunes help line a month ago and they can't figure it out either, but said that they must still be carrying it or it would've been taken down from their website. They told me to keep checking back to see if it's available. I've been checking for about six weeks now but it is still unavailable.

Also, the site goes down occasionally and also experiences technical issues and I'm curious who can help with those things. For example, today I've been working on a deck of flashcards with no issues. I ate some lunch, then came back and it is no longer working. I can practice with it, but for some reason I can no longer edit or add anything to it.

Thanks for reading and I'd be so grateful for your help!
Rachel

PS I have a brand new iPhone for Verizon that just came out 5 or 6 weeks ago...

Reply 1 : iFlipr help!!!

it's not available in the US and even though there is a page for it you will note that there is not a download button associated with that page.

The people you need to contact are the iFlipr people themselves

P

Thursday, March 17, 2011

'08 Macbook can't get 1920X1080 rate from new monitor. Help!

I just bought a new 24" Viewsonic monitor (VA2431wm) to hook to my 2008 Macbook. The monitor works great, but to have the image stretch from side to side I have to set it to a 1024X768 (stretched) setting versus the high powered 1920X1080 setting. The latter setting produces a "frame within the frame": there is a black frame around the image and it's too small to enjoy. I want to see images from top to bottom and side to side.

This has to do with my video card, right? It's a 2008 Macbook and I figure it's too weak, right? Anything I can do to improve this without installing a new video card? Any way to check my video card capacity?

Any idea how much it costs to upgrade a video card? Is this even possible with my old, cheap Macbook?

Also, I swear my eyes get tired faster after looking at this larger screen with larger font because the picture may not be as sharp as it needs to be at the lower setting. The font looks less solid somehow. A little blury.

Is that possible? I'm worried this may not be a good monitor for me, as I use it primarily for word processing and I worry it will weary my eyes.

Any advice?

Thanks in advance!

HR

Reply 1 : '08 Macbook can't get 1920X1080 rate from new monitor. Help!

Seems I have a few bubbles to burst here.

First off, it's exceedingly rare to find ANY laptop where you can upgrade the graphics. A few really high end gaming laptops might have a few LIMITED options, but for the bulk of laptops (Apple's being no exception), the graphics chip is hard soldered right to the main board. At a minimum then, to upgrade, you'd have to manually desolder a couple hundred tiny little solder joints, then resolder them with the new chip. And the new chip may not have the same pin configuration, and then there's potential issues with the chipset, software, it gets to be a real mess.

The reason the new monitor looks blurry is because you're both running a non-native resolution AND a non-native aspect ratio. You have a widescreen monitor with a 16:9 aspect ratio, but you're using a letterbox 4:3 aspect ratio resolution. That's what the OS is trying to tell you when it says "stretched". It means it's stretching the image to fit.

If for some reason the image isn't filling the entire screen on it's native 1920x1080 resolution, then you may want to check a few things. If you're using a VGA connection, make sure you run the auto-adjust for the image, since it may just not be centered properly. If you're using a DVI or HDMI connection, then you may have a defective monitor.

Now, if things are too small for you to see at 1920x1080, then find a lower resolution that doesn't have "stretched" next to it. You might want to try 1280x720 which is pretty close to what you are using now, but a widescreen resolution.

Your MacBook's video chip should be plenty powerful to handle well beyond 1920x1080 as well. If the video chip couldn't handle 1920x1080, it wouldn't be listed as an option. This is an issue with the monitor. Either the image isn't centered properly, or the thing's defective.

P0125 + horrible gas mileage



I have a 2001 Corolla with, I'm not kidding, 33,000 miles. I recently got a P0125 CEL, but the light has since gone off on its own. Nevertheless, the OBD II scanner still picks it up when I scan the car.

I'd otherwise just leave the car alone, but I've notice a serious drop in mpg (last time I calculated it, I was getting only 20 mpg around town). I have replaced the air filter with a K&N, I replaced the MAF with an OEM sensor about 500 miles ago, and my mechanic replaced the oxygen sensor about 2,000 miles ago (however, I don't know whether he replaced with OEM or not).

I just brought the car in for a standard 30K tune-up at a local shop and he didn't notice anything wrong (although I didn't mention the OBD error or the gas mileage problem).

Any recommendations for what I should test / replace? I miss my former superb gas mileage.

-Frank

Reply 1 : P0125 + horrible gas mileage



P0125: Insufficient Coolant Temperature For Closed Loop Fuel Control

Evidently your car is not recognizing that the engine is warming up. Because of this, your car never goes into "Closed Loop" mode. What happens when your car is in closed loop is that your computer starts to use readings from the O2 sensors to adjust the fuel maps. If it stays in open loop, it sticks with a fuel map that isn't very efficient.



When your car is at operating temperature, is your temp gauge showing that temp, or does it stay on C? I'm thinking that your coolant temperature sensor is either not working, unplugged, or one of the wires going to it is broken. Or, your thermostat may be stuck open. Hopefully this helps you.

Kyle



Oh, and I bought my 02 Corolla in September of 09 with 26,000 miles

Reply 2 : P0125 + horrible gas mileage



idk why, but i also have an 01 corolla with 99k miles, and get 25 mpg. if im lucky 30, but rarely. maybe that's just how corollas are programmed?

Reply 3 : P0125 + horrible gas mileage



My 2000 with 60,000 miles gets 30+ MPG in warm weather. I'm in Massachusetts too, and this winter I'm getting 18 to 22 MPG. Perhaps you should wait for a warmer spell and see if the MPG improves before you change anything else. These four cylinders do take longer to warm up, and this winter loss of MPG has been going on since I got the car in 2000.

Reply 4 : P0125 + horrible gas mileage




Quote:








Originally Posted by pchalpin
View Post

My 2000 with 60,000 miles gets 30+ MPG in warm weather. I'm in Massachusetts too, and this winter I'm getting 18 to 22 MPG. Perhaps you should wait for a warmer spell and see if the MPG improves before you change anything else. These four cylinders do take longer to warm up, and this winter loss of MPG has been going on since I got the car in 2000.



It could possibly the weather like you said, but i have no idea why else its getting poor gas milage. Same things happening to my car. I fill it up with gas every 4-5 days, and it only gets 25 mpg.

Reply 5 : P0125 + horrible gas mileage



Speaking of Codes and bad MPG, our 99 VE threw a 115,. 120,125, and 171 code the last time I scanned and we're getting like 20MPG. Might have something to do with the fact that I'll bet the car still has the original upstream O2 Sensor on it. I would be curious to know if O2 sensors age regardless of mileage on the car, possibly explaining some of your problems. Wouldn't hurt to test it, that's for sure. BTW, mine was wacko with the millivolt readings.



DM&FS

Reply 6 : P0125 + horrible gas mileage



winter blend fuel sucks

Reply 7 : P0125 + horrible gas mileage



i know some one who lost about 10mpg over the course of 3 months. he noticed the the car would take forever to warm up and when he had a mechanic look at the temp sensor it was determined that that was the problem. after a new one was put back in the car got better gas mileage and warmed up like it used to.

Reply 8 : P0125 + horrible gas mileage



Our motor warms up normally and the ohm reading on it cold was 5.4k at 30 degrees F. Wit h it spozed to be 2-3k ohms at 70 F, I think we're alright. That thing is a bear to get at BTW!!!

Reply 9 : P0125 + horrible gas mileage



I live in mass, and in the winter I get 20-25 mpg, in the summer 30mpg + easy. It's probably the weather

Reply 10 : P0125 + horrible gas mileage



In past winters we've still been over 30 mpg during highway driving but not lately this winter. We get 36 with the AC on and driving 65 with 3 sp automatic in summer.



DM&FS

Reply 11 : P0125 + horrible gas mileage



I've used Shell gas for years and I get 26-30mpg depending on the time of year, but lately I switched to Exxon be cause the Shell pumps at my station were adjusted where they flow too slow. I went through two tanks of Exxon gas which has 10% ethanol. The first tank I saw the mileage went down from 30-27mph. The second tank it went down to a measly 23mpg which has never happened before so I switched back to Shell gas at another station with faster pumps and I'm expecting to see the mpg return to normal since there are no engine issues causing it that I can detect. So from my experience if any of you are using Exxon gas that could be one of the reasons you have low mpg and it would be worth trying another brand.

Reply 12 : P0125 + horrible gas mileage



i just got a 2001 corolla S 6 days ago. it had overheating issues which threw codes. the only issue was the thermostat sticking and missing peices off of it. changed it and had no cooling problems since. check engine light did go off however, it came back on the next day. my mechanic said that the coolant temperature sensor is possibly damaged from the overheating. so my next mission is to replace it.

Reply 13 : P0125 + horrible gas mileage



Hmmm... I never noticed this sort of problem with my car. I've got a 2002 with 130K miles on it and I get between 32 - 36mpg highway driving winter or summer regardless, depending on how aggressively I drive. The engine takes only a few minutes to warm up to normal operating tempurature (depending on how cold it is outside, it can take up to 15 minutes), no issues with any of the sensors, etc.



Do the 2001 - 2002 model years have better tuned engines or am I just lucky that I haven't seen abysmal fuel economy?

Wednesday, March 16, 2011

Droid X vs. Droid Incredible

I'm looking at either the Droid X or the Droid Incredible from Verizon. Any pros or cons on either that you know of? Which one would you choose?

Thanks!

Reply 1 : Droid X vs. Droid Incredible

I am using the X and very happy. I went with it for the larger screen display and I love it.

Reply 2 : Droid X vs. Droid Incredible

I'm on a Droid X as well and I'm happy with it. The first one I had did run into the screen banding issue they had, however it was replaced with no issues and I have not had any other problems with it.

Battery life (with extended life battery, and a good setup) can extend into the 2 - 3 day range.

Droid X, Rooted, Custom ROM, Overclocked

As for the Incredible, I have not played around with them much however they seem to preform Ok. Its screen it to small for me.

Best bet go to the store and play with both of them. Find out what style you like.

Reply 3 : Droid X vs. Droid Incredible

i compared both extensively before i bought the x. been very happy with it...

Would Like to Finally get an iPhone..

I need some help if I am to succeed in getting an iPhone since I am pretty much a retard when it comes to getting a new "computer," especially in a phone. ,I just ran out my data and cell phone contracts so I have the New Every Two at Verizon for both the cell phone and the data. I heard I can combine them if I just want a cell phone with internet access. is the internet access n the iPhone by 3G or how? I am tired of reading from Verizon and sprint about get the new 4g model of this and that when there is not even a decent 4G network up with any decent coverage yet.

Any recommendations on the latest iPhone or other smartphone that has a good selection of apps that will make my life easier--not into games, just stuff like doing my taxes n the new app for taxes and sending it right in.

I love to learn and I am worried that the learning curve for the iPhone 4 will be too much for me, but I am ready to try because my contracts at Verizon are up.

Thanks for any help, suggestions, places to learn the basics of the iPhone, how it hooks up to the internet, would I need both 4G and the internet?

thanks.

Reply 1 : Would Like to Finally get an iPhone..

An iPhone is not a computer. An iPhone is easy to learn. An iPhone is a phone. An iPhone accesses the Internet wirelessly via your provider's network. It will also access hot spots and home networks. As far as apps, there are over a million, I believe, or something close. If you can't find something you like there, your standards are a tad high.

I have the 3G and it meets my needs. Daughter has the 4G and she likes it. Wife has the Edge and she's happy.

It all depends on what you want and what you expect. But I don't believe you can go wrong with an iPhone. And since all vendors will allow a return after a time, get one. If you don't like it, take it back.

Last I read, AT&T's network is faster than Verizon's, and AT&T allows running apps and talking at the same time. Verizon does not. In short, AT&T's network is better. I've been around for a long time, and have tried them all. AT&T is hard to beat, I have it and have no intention to change.

Reply 2 : Would Like to Finally get an iPhone..

The iPhone is very close to a computer, it is just a matter of semantics.
as far as "just bring it back," that is not as easy as you make it sound either. sounds like you need to experience this type of return and see how much it costs. When the iPhones first came out I fell for the "just return it" not thinking about the fees and the usage fe, etc. After it was all said and done, ATT w anted $nearly $350 from me. this was for the phone use (I had it for 3 days), the few text messages, trying the internet, activation fees, restocking fees, and whatever they had on there. I fought it and fought it until they just gave up and trashed the whole bill.

still looking, can't make much sense out of the 3G/4G Verizon map because the reds are so close but it looks like most of Salt Lake City is in the 4G LTE Extended area.

Reply 3 : Would Like to Finally get an iPhone..

When the iPhone 4 is made available for use w/ Verizon in February it will not support 4G data networks. Perhaps when the iPhone 5 is introduced it will, but not in February.

Reply 4 : Would Like to Finally get an iPhone..

i was not saying I could not find an app I was confused if I did not get an iPhone what apps would work with what phones (outside of the iPhone). for example, I saw some apps and it said for the iPhone go here and for the Droid with % something or above go here and that was it.

the iPhone is a LOT more than a phone. that is my dilemma. I have learning problems and it takes me forever to learn new things especially techy stuff. In a recent major study that I do not know where the URL is now, Verizon won hands down over ATT for National calls (less dropped over ATT) but for international, ATT won . With the iPhone coming from Verizon soon you will be able to tether but I do not think you can teether with the iPhone yet. It will use the 3G initially and the 4G as it grows into some kind of "network." this is my understanding.

Reply 5 : Would Like to Finally get an iPhone..

I there I just wanted to let you know that I am an Iphone 4 users and the love it to pieces. I run my online business directly from my Iphone I can check clickbank affiliate commissions, email, internet banking and you can download a variety of apps from the app store. I would highly recommend it to anyone wanting a smartphone with internet, music and use of apps.

Reply 6 : Would Like to Finally get an iPhone..

is the iPhone 4 your first phone?

How do you keep track of everything making sure you do not go over your limits and get charged double?

Did you learn to use it on your own? Where to you go to get your apps? do you stay with apple "certified" apps or do you take your chances with any app?
Is your through ATT?

Reply 7 : Would Like to Finally get an iPhone..

1. ATT is the ONLY supplier of the iPhone 4, until February
2. The only Apps that work on the iPhone 4, unless you jailbreak your phone, come from the iTunes store
3. Buy the unlimited data plan and you do not go over your limits


P

Reply 8 : Would Like to Finally get an iPhone..

Hey dude, here is one out of many websites (I will let you look elsewhere for yourself) that has NOTHING to do with iTunes that sells over 30,000 apps. Some from Apple, some from 3rd parties and some from just the average person who knows how to make an app. check it out and that will be all the teaching I will give you on this topic. You obviously have a lot to learn.
http://www.apple.com/iphone/apps-for-iphone/

makes you think I did not know that ATT is the only supplier of the iPhone4? Well that is not entirely true, you should watch the way you word it. Radio Shack was a"supplier" of the iPhone 4. If you want a carrier in this case you will need to go to ATT or Verizon in February. Got it!! just a few weeks ago. they had a big deal and my sister got lucky and came home with an iPhone 4?YES for $29.99. Do you homework if you want more.

No there are many apps that will work on the iPhone. There are some that have been approved by Apple and most have not because of the extensive work. There are a lot of people who get their app from a person or supplier that has nothing to do with the iTunes Store..

why would you jailbreak your phone when you can go to many pages on the internet, some from Apple thayt sell thousands Apps. The ones on ITunes usually costs. Go to the website that has thousands of apps that has nothing to do with iTunes. some are approved by Apple, some cost, some do not. I thought I knew little.

You can still buy the unlimited data plan and STILL go over your limits. data plans are not indefinitely, or people would be downloading tons of movies and the network would be constantly shut down. that is how hackers work sometimes to take down a website.

Would you go for the new Sprint EVo or the iPhone 4 or iPhone 5 or the latest Verizon smartphone. Is Droid only from Verizon? what is the latest Droid version?

Reply 9 : Would Like to Finally get an iPhone..

I can only speak for At&t and Verizon, but both carriers have multiple free methods to check voice/data/messaging usage.

1. call customer service (free call)
2. the phone has a special number saved that you call and a free text msg is sent (fee call)
3. access your online account

As stated, these are all free and is probably available on all US carriers.

Reply 10 : Would Like to Finally get an iPhone..

most if not all carriers have this free service. but if you do not get texts you cannot even validate a Facebook account because they will not send you over the phone a security code. I have always had text both in and out blocked from my Verizon phone and the only way I can do what you are talking about is if I call 611 and wait, press the right numbers and wait for the verbal account info.

why can you only speak for ATT and Verizon? Did Sprint put you on their do not call list? lol

Reply 11 : Would Like to Finally get an iPhone..

I can only speak about Verizon and At&t because those are the only providers I have experience with. I won't pretend to know how Sprint or T-mobile operate without some knowledge. I only offer an opinion. Take it for whatever it is worth or just ignore it. Your choice.

Reply 12 : Would Like to Finally get an iPhone..

thanks bro

Reply 13 : Would Like to Finally get an iPhone..

was learning how to use an iPhone 4 hard? what carrier do you have? If it is ATT? approx. how much is your monthly bill? Is your iPhone 4 hooked up to 3G in anyway? Will it be to 4G when that network is established? How can the iPhone 4 tether? Do they need 3G or 4G to tether? How does the i{Phone hook up to the WIfI when you are out and about driving in the desert? I do not understand how the iPhone uses the internet like if you are traveling out of the nation or out of state? does it only work if you find a hotspot? If so, why do they charge you for a network connection?

with all the charges for the iPhone you have to have an internet (WiFi) charge, right? Where does it get that WiFi? I do't understand why the smartphones do not advertise about the 4G network? it seems like such a rip off that Sprint has ben advertising the 4G phones and connections for a year and they are less advanced in their 4G network than Verizon. Seem s like false advertising.

Reply
Report offensive post
Email to friend
Post 15 of 29

More answers for you

by mrmacfixit Moderator - January 21, 2011 5:09 AM PST

In Reply to: studio by Kooler1

The iPhone 4 is hooked to the AT&T 3G and 4G network.
The Verizon iPhone 4 is hooked to the Verizon 3G & 4G network
Both iPhones will hook up to a WiFi signal from a hotspot. I doubt there are any in the desert so WiFi will not be available there.
Both iPhones connect to the internet via the 3G or 4G wireless network provided by the AT&T or Verizon. You have to have a data plan from the carrier. This is NOT a choice, you must have one.
If there is a wireless hotspot available, both phones will will use if to connect to the internet. There is NO charge for this, unless the Wifi hotspot owner charges for its use.
The Data Plan charge is NOT for Wifi. It is to use the carriers 3G or 4G wireless network to download data from the internet.

Currently there is no set standard for 4G. Phone companies seem to be free to call their networks 4G even if they have only tweaked it a little.
There is a standard for 3G though and carriers have to meet that standard before they can call their networks 3G.

P

Reply
Report offensive post
Email to friend
Post 16 of 29

One of the advantage of the iphone over

by orlbuckeye - January 21, 2011 12:27 PM PST

In Reply to: studio by Kooler1

android phones is the ease of use. Android is harder to learn. The applications run a little different from computer applications. You go to the app store and select install and it installs. One install you touch the widget and it runs. If the application need anything it will basically ask you yes or no question. One thing said above which isn't true anymore is unlimited data isn't available from At&t. I believe they have 200 MB for 15 a month ans 2 gig for 25 a month. I have unlimited because it was available when I got my 3gs but I believe I will have to switch once this contract runs out. I'm leaning on going to Sprint with the Evo with unlimited everything for 69.

Reply
Report offensive post
Email to friend
Post 17 of 29

you do not have to switch once your contract runs out

by mrmacfixit Moderator - January 21, 2011 5:16 PM PST

In Reply to: One of the advantage of the iphone over by orlbuckeye

you will just keep going, and paying the bill, until you change your phone.

The carrier is not allowed to change your contract unless you change something, like the phone.

I have an iPhone (first generation) and have unlimited data, 200 text and umpteen minutes and still pay the same price as I did on day 1.

Keep the 3Gs and you keep the original contract/prices


P

Reply
Report offensive post
Email to friend
Post 18 of 29

fixit

by Kooler1 - January 21, 2011 10:48 PM PST

In Reply to: you do not have to switch once your contract runs out by mrmacfixit Moderator

but i do not want to keep the 3G moto phone, I want to move up in the world of phone service. lol

I am looking at the Verizon iPhone, which I assume is the same as all other iPhone 4's. Except the Verizon iPhone will use something like CDME and not 4G, whatever that means.

does the iPhone on ATT use what I read Verizon will use and it was something like CDME?

I just remember when I had the iPhone when they first came out, I had 30 days to try it and I tried it for 15 days and the "try it for free" came to $about $400 total for activation fees, minutes I used or the unlimited portion of the service, and whatever, that is when I started a crusade to get that down to $0.00 because the ATT lady told me if I did not like the phone I would owe nothing. so after a month and talking to the ATT rep at the store, I got them to take the balance away.

But now the keyboard is slightly larger (despite what fixit says) and I can almost hit one key.

Reply
Report offensive post
Email to friend
Post 19 of 29

Terminology.

by mrmacfixit Moderator - January 22, 2011 6:04 AM PST

In Reply to: fixit by Kooler1

The reference to keeping the old phone and continuing to pay for the unlimited data was directed at orlbuckeye and not at you or your 3G moto phone.

The Verizon iPhone 4 is the same as the AT&T iPhone 4 with the exception of the way it handles wireless (not Wifi) phone calls and data.
The Verizon iPhone 4 uses CDMA, (Code Division Multiple Access) to handle calls. This is not cutting edge technology and the US is just about the last country to continue to use it. For this reason, the phone cannot be used overseas.
I believe it is also the reason why the Verizon phone cannot do Voice and Data at the same time. (I could be wrong there)

The AT&T iPhone uses GSM (Global System for Mobile Communications) which is used in most other major countries.

You appear to be confused over the 3G/4G thing too. As already stated, 3G is a wireless standard which specifies the speed at which voice and data travel over a wireless phone network.
4G, when it is finished, will also specify the same thing but, right now, there is actually NO 4G standard. This means that a phone company can tweak their network and safely call it 4G without fear of false advertising.
Currently, 4G is whatever speeds the phone company want it to be.
For instance, at the 2011 CES, AT&T rolled out their 4G network by renaming their 3G network! Go figure!

P

Reply
Report offensive post
Email to friend
Post 20 of 29

Please See Above Email

by Kooler1 - January 23, 2011 10:54 PM PST

In Reply to: Terminology. by mrmacfixit Moderator

as you will see from my email sent on 1/21 Verizon's iPhone 4 is using CDMA technology. I am not sure if you repeating me is your way of ?.I have no idea, but you are repeating what my email said.

If CDMA is that bad, Verizon would not be using it. I have no idea if I should get the iPhone 4 from Verizon or from ATT. ATT has worse customer feedback and many more dropped calls in the States than Verizon. I would like to get an IPhone 4 but I am not happy with Verizon either,, especially if they are using an outdated technology.

I cannot imagine that a major player would start taking on iPhone 4s and be using an outdated technology like you say. If ATT had such good technology, they would not have come out much lower in customer satisfaction and dropped calls than Verizon.

does ATT have unlimited data transfer (internet access)?

With the app that allows one to find their phone, if they do not have Mobile Me can they still use that app? I read about it on Apple.com and they made it sound like you need Mobile Me to be able to send the signal out, since the phone that might be lost has the App that tracks the phone is lost.

Reply
Report offensive post
Email to friend
Post 21 of 29

I read that the you can

by orlbuckeye - February 4, 2011 8:10 AM PST

In Reply to: Terminology. by mrmacfixit Moderator

keep the unlimited data plan even if you upgrade your phone and start a new contract. You can't go back to the unlimited data plan if you change it.

Reply
Report offensive post
Email to friend
Post 22 of 29

One more thing,

by mrmacfixit Moderator - January 23, 2011 3:58 PM PST

In Reply to: fixit by Kooler1

the new Verizon iPhone 4 will only be doing 3G and NOT 4G

Just thought I'd mention that


P

Reply
Report offensive post
Email to friend
Post 23 of 29

check above

by Kooler1 - January 21, 2011 10:42 PM PST

In Reply to: One of the advantage of the iphone over by orlbuckeye

buckeye-

It has not been said?? look above for the comment on data transfer limits. There has not been unlimited data for sometime on any carrier that I am aware of.

Reply
Report offensive post
Email to friend
Post 24 of 29

Wifi is using a wireless network

by orlbuckeye - January 21, 2011 12:30 PM PST

In Reply to: studio by Kooler1

in your home, Mc Donalds or local bar. The 3G is available to a larger extent based on your cell phone providers coverage. I've seen cnet test on speeds and Sprint 4G blow everything away in downloads speeds.

Reply
Report offensive post
Email to friend
Post 25 of 29

But Sprint

by Kooler1 - January 23, 2011 10:57 PM PST

In Reply to: Wifi is using a wireless network by orlbuckeye

But Sprint is far behind in their 4G network even more than Verizon. have you looked at Sprint's 4G network Map? You might be fooled and looking at their 3G map.

Spend a couple minutes in Sprints forum and see how unhappy most people are with their 4G network because it is hardly anywhere unless you are in a hugh city and right under one of their transmitters. or an airport that carries Sprint 4G.

do you have the Apple iPhone?

Reply
Report offensive post
Email to friend
Post 26 of 29

buck

by Kooler1 - March 14, 2011 2:50 AM PDT

In Reply to: Wifi is using a wireless network by orlbuckeye

they might blow it all up in download speeds but to really know what the customers are experiencing is to go into the forum a few days a week for a month to get a good idea of the complaints. it was pretty eye-opening. Their network is farther behind then Verizon and they have been working on theirs twice as long.

Reply
Report offensive post
Email to friend
Post 27 of 29

Yes i have an Iphone 3gs.

by orlbuckeye - February 4, 2011 8:18 AM PST

In Reply to: Would Like to Finally get an iPhone.. by Kooler1

I live in Orlando and they do have Sprint 4G in orlando. I have unlimited still because I had it when AT&T changed their plans. The changes was for new customers only. The biggest issue i have with the iphone is I have to delete emails 2 or 3 times. I delete them and they come back. Then I have to turn the phone off and on in order to delete them. I also get the emails that say they are from NO SENDER and i have to turn the phone off and on to beable to delete those. The other big issue is the lack of flash.

Reply
Report offensive post
Email to friend
Post 28 of 29

Thanks

by Kooler1 - February 4, 2011 5:54 PM PST

In Reply to: Yes i have an Iphone 3gs. by orlbuckeye

you might want to look a Gmail and change your email (the main one from Gmail) to IMAP. With this way of dealing with email, gmail will synch all the places you receive email (if it is the gmail address). For me the Gmail change to IMAP has been a lifesaver and I do not even have an iPhone. Just the fac that it will synch Gmail no matter what computer I use and the Mail program that ios on my computer, it synchs them all so what is on the main Gmail server, it looks the same on the other Mail programs you have linked to your Gmail account.
I know also the service if you have the Apple plan (MobileMe) it will also synch all of the places you get your email.

Reply
Report offensive post
Email to friend
Post 29 of 29

Thanks - New!

by Kooler1 - March 15, 2011 1:23 AM PDT

In Reply to: Thanks by Kooler1

what if I have 2 gmail address. I have one hooked up with Macs Mail program and set to IMAP, but the other gmail address I do not have it set to gmail but I have it set to IMAP. will it do anything if I do not have it configured in Mail? Can I have more than 1 gmail account configured in Mail? Do you know how to configure the 2nd gmail account with Mail? the first gmail account did it all on its own when I turned the MacBook Pro on for the first time. it was odd but it set it up all correct, I assume.

Reply
Report offensive post
Email to friend
  • Back to iPhones, iPods, and iPads
  • Tracked Track this thread
rss
Locked thread


Moderator
CNET staff
Samsung staff
Norton Authorizied Support team
AVG staff


Windows Outreach team
Dell staff
Intel staff

Your e-mail address is used only to let the recipient know who sent the e-mail and in case of transmission error. Neither your address nor the recipient's address will be used for any other purpose.

Sorry, there was a problem emailing this post. Please try again.

Submit Email Cancel

Thank you. Sent email to

Close

Thank you. Sent email to

Close

If you believe this post is offensive or violates the CNET Forums' Usage policies, you can report it below (this will not automatically remove the post). Once reported, our moderators will be notified and the post will be reviewed.

Offensive: Sexually explicit or offensive language

Spam: Advertisements or commercial links

Disruptive posting: Flaming or offending other users

Illegal activities: Promote cracked software, or other illegal content

Sorry, there was a problem submitting your post. Please try again.

Submit Report Cancel

Your message has been submitted and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.

Close

Your message has been submitted and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.

Close

The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to the CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to CBS Interactive Site Terms of Use.